House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

DTMark

Office 2016: Don't Do It

I was going along fine with Office 2013. Then I made the mistake of accepting the upgrade to 2016 - I have an Office 365 subscription.

The other apps are probably fine but Outlook 2016 is a total shambles.

Right from the outset I'm getting issues all over the place trying to connect to Exchange, profile errors, freezing, crashing, and a week later I still can't get it to work with Exchange.

It is known that Outlook 2016 doesn't work with Exchange 2007. However mine is Exchange 2010 and it doesn't work with that either. The profiles appear to have become corrupted but even deleting and recreating them doesn't work. Even an IMAP account won't add to a Profile, getting stuck in an endless cycle of "Enter your password" dialogs.

In short: don't do it.

I was going along fine with Office 2013. Then I made the mistake of accepting the upgrade to 2016 - I have an Office 365 subscription.

Right from the outset I'm getting issues all over the place trying to connect to Exchange, profile errors, freezing, crashing, and a week later I still can't get it to work with Exchange.

It is known that Outlook 2016 doesn't work with Exchange 2007. However mine is Exchange 2010 and it doesn't work with that either. The profiles appear to have become corrupted but even deleting and recreating them doesn't work. Even an IMAP account won't add to a Profile, getting stuck in an endless cycle of "Enter your password" dialogs.

Use Thunderbird?

These are the immediate faults.

Just wait to find out what else theyve bust.

Im spending a lot of time at the mo. reationlising a number of software products tht used to work on Windows but no longer do.

MS have broken so much that we are close to saying screw it - Ws20012 only.