House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Amateur Idiot

What Should I Do?

I'm quite pi55ed off with my job. I'm doing IT support but it's not what I want to do. Really my background is programming and that's what I should be doing. Normally I'd look for another IT job but I need to update my programming skills before I can do that (since my skills have gone out of date whilst I did the support work). The skill requirements for a software developer are huge nowadays, because applications generally have to be browser-based & internet enabled, and there are a lot of different technologies required to develop that kind of software. It is therefore no small undertaking to get my skills up to date. Meanwhile...

Even if I manage to get another IT job doing the kind of work I want to do, the pay is not that great. I've always been very careful to live within my means, and have accumulated what should be a decent amount of savings & investments, but...

I didn't buy a house. Now it seems that all of the extra money I've saved & invested is likely to just enable me to buy the same kind of house I could have bought years ago without all of that saving (if only it had suited me to buy a house back then!). My main goal in life is financial independence. I want to accumulate enough wealth to be able to live off investment income for the rest of my life. It's what you might call retirement I suppose, but I had hoped to achieve that much sooner than the normal age. The way things are going, it seems doubtful that I'll ever be able to afford to retire any earlier than the normal retirement age (which I think of as being around age 65) despite all my careful saving and investment.