House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

DTMark

Creating Music For Total Beginners

About a year ago I had a dream in which I was at a club and there was a track playing.

I seem to have been able to commit this track to memory. It is not a track that exists. I must have invented it in the dream. I do have dreams like this, where I can recall them so vividly, like a movie. They seem to coincide with particular periods of my life.

I've never created any music before. This is an electronic dance track. The general thrust of it is a bassline and a synth melody, no vocals, mercifully. I can't really sing, so it's just as well.

What could I download that would enable me, as a total beginner, if I throw enough time at it, to lay down that track from memory to my computer without committing a significant amount of cash and see if this is rather unexpected hobby which might grow - not into a chart single, but to something that I could become competent enough to enjoy and indulge in?

There are a number of 100% free programs out there, but they tend to be rather difficult for the newbie to both set-up and use.

Try the demo of FL Studio 12 by Image Line Software, I'd say it was by far the easiest to make sounds from the get-go, especially electronic music

About a year ago I had a dream in which I was at a club and there was a track playing.

I seem to have been able to commit this track to memory. It is not a track that exists. I must have invented it in the dream. I do have dreams like this, where I can recall them so vividly, like a movie. They seem to coincide with particular periods of my life.

I've never created any music before. This is an electronic dance track. The general thrust of it is a bassline and a synth melody, no vocals, mercifully. I can't really sing, so it's just as well.