House Price Crash Forum
Wimbledon88

Did You Study Economics At School Or University?

I have always been interested in Economics and I studied the subject at school and university. I went to the local comprehensive in Scotland and a (supposedly) top school of economics at a British university.

The teaching at school was very good. Our teachers basically told us what was what, explaining fractional reserve banking, the gold standard (I came away understanding it was the best system), money as debt and the current state of the economy (I can still remember the prices for crude oil at that time, mostly $18, will probably soon be experiencing deja vu!).

Then I got to university and it was a complete farce. It was all so wrong that it completely put me off Economics and I followed a different career, despite having an honours degree. In fact, it was only when I reached the honours course that we seemed to do anything relevant, like international finance.

The neo-Keynesian theories just did not make sense, without being able to fully understand why, because criticism did not come into it. The other business subjects were taught in an equally dire fashion (the first lesson in Accounting, which I had also done at school, was "why do we do the things we do?"... wtf??).

I wonder if anywhere there is a course in economics, online or whatever, which describes things the way they really are? Not just the Austrian approach, I mean more like the plain facts you get on the Keiser Report, but backed up with statistical evidence, not just their soundbites.

I would love to teach my own course to people, only I have been away from the subject for too long and, anyway, do not have all the facts and recent developments at my fingertips...