House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  

Shares - Do I Need An Isa Wrapper?

I have a few £k in shares, which forms my pension ... when is it advisable to put them in some kind of ISA wrapper? I am a few k away from being in the higher tax bracket in terms of salary. Thanks.

The income tax position is not especially relevent given the recent change to dividend income taxation but having shares in an ISA protects you from CGT on their sale. If you plan on them making substantial gains between now and when you come to sell them, and I'm sure you hope they do, then holding them in an ISA is a good idea.

If you aren't already using your ISA allowance then putting them into ISA has no downside really.

(I'm not an expert on this, happy to be corrected by other posters)

That's my understanding too, with a Stocks and Shares ISA.

• No Capital Gains Tax* (*Tax laws may change)

There's a Budget change to dividends, which dampens the need for Stocks and Shares ISA from dividend perspective. However I still prefer Stocks and Shares ISA.

http://www.which.co.uk/money/tax/guides/tax-on-savings-and-investments/dividend-tax/

I got most members of my family (brothers and sister) to open a Stocks and Shares ISA last year. Same place now charges at £200 one-off opening account fee.

Family (renter-savers) normally try and get as much of their savings into their Cash ISAs (saving approx £500 per month).

Their (my) plan now, is to each open one of those Help-To-Buy ISAs (when they are introduced) and max that out to the low-limit, and put the rest of their savings into Stocks and Shares ISA.

The monthly maximum contribution from savers into a Help to Buy Isa will be £200, following an initial deposit of up to £1,000, with the government adding £50 a month at the most. The accounts will run indefinitely once opened. But if someone accumulates £12,000 over that time, a maximum of £3,000 will be added by the taxpayer.