House Price Crash Forum

Penion Decisions Tps

HOLA441

mods please move after a while

i have a big decision to make and im hoping that you people (who are the smartest i know- in general) can help me.

heres my situation

graduated 2004- £14k student loans. paid literally zero back since 2004 despite notifying them i was earning!!! **** up at there end.

at 27 went into teaching. now 32 and part time on 0.7 4 days a week. mrs works full time and is happy on £20k

i choose teaching as its someting i enjoy and my work life balance could not be better. contacts mean i could easily earn £35k plus at the drop of a hat for 60hours/week plus but i choose not to. im a qualified locksmith, and a an awesome salesperson to the extent i have people chasing me 5 years after i have retired form sales! im quite happy on 4days a week plus other little earners on the "side" i enjoy my job and have never been happier.

feb 2014 bought a monster bargain of a house. £58k house in South yorks. currently £10k in to renovation and another £10k to find. mortgage is £450 a month on a 7 year fix. overpaying and should be paid off in another 11 years by the time im 42 :-)

im quite happy to live in this house until my dying days (nice area, quiet, good schools, big enough for 2 kids)

the decision i have is about retirement plans and the TPS. 8.6% gross contributions if i join. my HR person is useless when it comes to the detail,, as is the TPS website. i have opted out so far. i do not intend to be in a classroom past the age of 60 at the latest which means if i enter now i will have around 20 years paid in to the TPS. for full pension i believe you need 40 years of accruals. however if you draw your pension before 65 you lose 5% for every year that you take it earlier so if you take at 60 you lose 25%!!! in reality i would stop teaching at 60 and then do something else for 5 years. claim pension at 65.