House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Assume The Opposite

Tory Government: Hpc Or Hpi?

Thoughts?

HPC The Tories are contra in many ways, Reasons:

1. Strong economy - rate rise soon

2. Housing benefit cut backs - reduces BTL profitability

3. Excellent tax collectors off privately owned businesses and big data coming in

4. HTB was an election tactic not a strategy

I'm no expert, but it did occur to me this morning, in the depths of despair about 5 more years of HPI (and other nonsense), that actually the wealthy will at some point benefit from a HPC (hoovering up more assets for cheap) and will at some point be positioning for this, if they aren't already.

Everyone knows that booms don't and can't last forever. So the question becomes one of best timing, for the banks and for the wealthy elite. They have been suckering in the last of the greatest fools for a while now it seems, and how many more can there be?

Logically, more and more political and real capital will have to be thrown at keeping HPI going with ever weaker impact. At what point do they decide to allow nature to take it's course? As ever, it's all about engineering winners and losers.

EDIT, to add: So my prediction is, somewhat hopefully, that it will be HPI all the way, until suddenly it isn't.

Edited by LC1

Housing benefit and tax credit reductions ie the talked about Tory benefit cuts should help towards HPC

Also much needed BTL regulation eg compulsory registration of LLs and BTL taxation in one form or another would also help HPC. Regulation of letting agents and legislation to curb all the dubious fees they charge would help renters and help to slow down the BTL market.

We can live in hope.

Now that the mansion tax, scrapping of non-dom status and rent caps are off the cards, I expect high-end London to start rising again and pull the rest of the market up with it. The inheritance tax cut won't harm the market either. HPI.

Edited by subspace