House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SarahBell

Teachers Who Take Their Kids Out Of School...

On FB on the MCC facebook page
Well I've just paid my £240 fine from Manchester City Council for taking my children out of school for 7 days. To travel to high altitude into the mountains of Peru. To mix with the mountain folk and learn about their way of life. To work with the Planeterra, a women's cooperative which promotes better opportunities in the region for women. To visit ancient inca ruins culminating in a guided tour by a genuine Incan warrior of Machu Picchu. Not to mention the cultural tour of Lima we did which educated them about the war with Chile. We spent 12 days (the rest was Easter holidays) at the most educational, fantastic place on earth. As a teacher myself I feel those 7 days away from school did not jeopardise my children's education in any way, it ultimately enhanced it. Therefore, I pay my fine of £240 and pat myself on the back for investing in my children's education and their future. I'd do it again tomorrow!

--

So the 30 kids she normally teaches have benefited how?