House Price Crash Forum

Letting Agent Belvoir Emailing About Labour Policies - Merged

HOLA441

Received this from Belvoir Colchester today.

Lettings Agents Fees have exploded in cost in the last 10 years. I dont see the value in all these contract, check in, check out fees etc - just looks to me a transparent way for the Lettings Agents to take money direct from the tenant,

In my experience Belvoir Colchester also try to be creative on charging tenants for wear and tear and cleaning of their properties when they give notice - avoid.

Are they scaremongering scum?

Dear Unsafe As Houses

Many of you will have seen or read recent media reports that tenant fees appear to be part of the political agenda in the run up to the General Election on the 7th May. As a letting agent I am not interested in promoting any particular political party, but I do feel that it is important to alert you, as a valued client, to the potentially damaging outcomes of Labour’s proposed policies. These are policies that will be extremely detrimental to you.

Ed Miliband has categorically stated that, should he get into power, he will abolish all tenant fees. Whilst at first glance this might sound as if it is a good thing for tenants, I can assure you that it will have the opposite effect. Should tenant fees be abolished these costs will be passed to the landlord and if this happens there is a very strong possibility that many landlords will either increase rents to recoup their costs or they will withdraw from the market and sell their properties.