House Price Crash Forum
Digsby

Land Registry Chrome Extension

My apologies for posting this in potentially the wrong Forum, but this one (House Prices and the Economy) is the most active and I want some exposure to this, so free to move it, but it would be nice to hang around for a short time!

As regular forum members will have guessed, I'm a software developer, so I tend to approach problems by asking myself "what software could I write to help with this".

When it comes to house prices, I write software that helps me understand the market, and recently have been comparing Rightmove asking prices against the LR's price calculator to see how under- or over-valued properties on the market are in comparison.

But I often want to know the LR's valuation of a listing I'm looking at while browsing Rightmove, and doing that manually is quite time consuming. So I have written a Chrome extension that finds out the last sold price and date (if known) for a property I am looking at, and display the LR's valuation based on the info in a popup window available in the browsers toolbar.

As a long time lurker before I joined up, I've taken an awful lot from members of this site in the form of knowledge, I would like to give something back, so I have made the extension available for members to install and enjoy, for free.

It is not strictly finished, some error handling and further functionality are needed, but it shouldn't cause any problems and usually works without a hitch. The extension installs an icon on your browsers toolbar, to use, you simply visit a property on Rightmove and click the icon to see the valuation.

In future, I hope to have the icon change colour when a valuation is available so you don't need to click it and wait to find out (not all property's last sold price can be discovered, and beware there are mismatches on Rightmove can can lead to wrong valuations).