House Price Crash Forum
forne

Reduced Mortgage Lending On The Quiet?

I moved house early last year (into rented accommodation after each and every house of interest went to best and final offers and ultimately ~10% over the asking price).

During that process, I used the barclays mortgage calculator to get an idea of what my wife and I could borrow. We went through the process and obtained a mortgage in principal for £313,145 (which matched the online calculator).

Quite often, I revisit the calculator just to keep an eye on the monthly repayments of such a mortgage since the rates have been heading lower.

Anyway today, I noticed that the total amount that they will lend (on the same salary figures) has dropped from £313,145 to £257,425 :-o

This will add to downward pressure on house prices!

I've never used the Barclays calculator before, but they are offering similar debt levels to HSBC/FD's calculator. Wonder what's going on...

I hear Natwest have the slackest mortgage affordability checks. Apparently they don't count childcare costs.

I've never used the Barclays calculator before, but they are offering similar debt levels to HSBC/FD's calculator. Wonder what's going on...

Is that good or bad? I had a play with the Barclays calculator and still narked off they want to lend so much to meet house prices; more narked off with applicants though.

Is it something to do with this?

Affordability Vs Salary Multipliers
Started by selhurt sound, Sep 09 2014 09:20 PM

5-5.5x is only available until the end of this month, BOE are capping it to 4.5x although you may be able to convince the banks that you are one of the special 15%.

The Broker Blues Thread

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=4907259&page=24

betmunch

07-01-2015, 1:15 PM

Also NatWest have everyone in a conference for a few days so no-one to help with new enquiries until they get back!

Shocking

amnblog

23-01-2015, 9:30 AM