House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

DTMark

Tax Arrangements When Living Abroad

We're hoping to move to Amsterdam early next year.

I work as a self employed IT consultant.

All my clients are currently in the UK.

They pay me in sterling.

I want to continue to provide services to these clients.

Up until the point where the pound begins to become toilet paper, I'm going to have to honour the customer's right to pay in sterling. It is not reasonable to expect UK customers to pay me in EUR.

Not yet, anyway. If the pound becomes worthless then I would have to insist on EUR payment, or, the client finds an alternate UK provider. This is a risk, so I'm going to press ahead with my Dutch and attempt to gain clients there.

Am I right in thinking that, for UK customers, the money was "earned" in Holland, and therefore subject to their taxes? In other words I would not pay any UK tax, my liability for that ends when I move.

I'll need bank accounts both in sterling and EUR, presumably, domiciled in Holland, so I'll look at those options.

Any tips/corrections?

Holland has some complex tax laws regarding workng over there which only an accountant au fait with the rules can help you with.

I have worked in Holland before but my contract has been with UK arms of US tech companies - so my taxes were all paid to the UK. However, I have had Dutch based companies want me to go and work there and, frankly, the tax arrangments then changed considerably as I would have to pay taxes in Holland.

However, there is something - which only an account can help you with - where you can go as a UK EU citizen and work in Holland for a limited time without having to pay your income tax there. You would, of course, have to pay local taxes.

Your best bet is to go ask your questions over on http://forums.contractoruk.com/

The UK tax rules basically have three criteria:

-Resident

-Ordinarily resident

-Domicile