House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

rantnrave

Job Interview Dilemma

Would appreciate any thoughts re a dilemma I’ve got after a job interview I had with another firm. Making the move would mean a 30% jump in salary, but relocating to a more expensive part of the country. It kind of balances out, but the quality of housing stock re family homes is better over there.

During the interview, it became clear to me that they hadn’t fully thought through this new position they had created. Their expectations are too unrealistic from where they are currently at. They also separately mentioned about a total of three staff (of 25 ish) who were in the process of or had recently moved on. That made my mind up to turn down the job if I was offered it.

Instead, they want me to come back and discuss working with them in a different area (which I have a lot of experience from in the past). They haven’t finalised a job description and I’ve said I’d need to see that before taking things further.

My gut feelings:
They hadn’t got their act together re thinking through the original role I applied for which isn’t a good sign
Their strategy and recruiting seems to be based around the skills of people they come across rather than being planned
Three people out of 25 have left since the summer – not a great sign surely?

In addition, their income is dropping at 5% per year, which is why they are pushing in new directions.

Worth jumping ship for or keeping at a barge pole’s distance?

What was most attractive to you and the basis of your going for interview - the job/opportunity (it is niche/not widespread?), or the possible location, what was the driving force?

As you mention the housing in justification. If so, and you'd prefer to live there.. any other employers you can approach in that area first?