House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Amateur Idiot

Do Arseholes Get Further In Life?

I've got the stereo-typical "nice guy" personality, which at first glance might seem like a good thing.

However, on deeper analysis and consideration of all that I've experienced over the last 30 years, I'm coming more and more round to thinking that it is a significant handicap and general disadantage in life. The arsehole type people appear to get further, both in terms of wealth and of love.

I imagine that being a complete tw@t is going too far and would probably lead ultimately to bad things. However, I do wonder whether things might just go more my way if I could move away from the nice-guy persona and tend, at least slightly, towards being an arsehole.

That's just my opinion. What say you, my learned friends?

Cheers,
Amateur Idiot

Disclaimer: I'm not an expert. The above comments are just my opinions only and they may not be factually correct. If you act on any of the above then you do so entirely at your own risk. I do not accept any liability.

It's more complex than that. You've got to be just the right amount of arsehole in just the right way. It's a minefield. Nice guys would love to believe it's just about being more of an arsehole and they wouldn't stoop to that. A good primer on being the right amount of arsehole in the right way is the 48 laws of power. You can be a nice guy and an arsehole at the same time. It;s all a question of perspective.

Depends what you mean by "go further" I think...certain roads you can only go down by becoming an ars3hole :)

I tend to think of it this way...some people can behave in ways I can't, but still manage to sleep at night. I say good luck to them, and may they 'enjoy' their ill-gotten gains :)

P