House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
winkie

The Cost Of Wanting To Live Near To Where You Work

I work in the private sector in the London area. Our company seem to have problems recruiting and retaining quality staff due to the prohibitive cost of property prices, and to a lesser extent renting.

Another option is to travel to work, but the transport system is overcrowed, unreliable, timeconsuming & costly, and the roads are a nightmare.

The London waiting has not been reviewed for over 10 years. Either houseprices will have to fall, or wages (inflation) will need to rise.

the London weighting in many jobs is only about £4k pa................but my experience of working there is that in some jobs people get a lot more money than elsewhere but the majority of people aren't any better off than people in the regions

the London weighting in many jobs is only about £4k pa................but my experience of working there is that in some jobs people get a lot more money than elsewhere but the majority of people aren't any better off than people in the regions

Michael,

I think you are right, sometimes I wonder if working in London is worth all the aggro. But as they say better the devil you know! Its nice to get away from the place, but I wonder if you would miss it if away for too long?

I work in the private sector in the London area. Our company seem to have problems recruiting and retaining quality staff due to the prohibitive cost of property prices, and to a lesser extent renting.

Another option is to travel to work, but the transport system is overcrowed, unreliable, timeconsuming & costly, and the roads are a nightmare.

The London waiting has not been reviewed for over 10 years. Either houseprices will have to fall, or wages (inflation) will need to rise.