House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

interestrateripoff

6 Rape Myths Which Need Busting. Badly

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/womens-politics/10888758/6-rape-myths-which-need-busting.-Badly.html

As the UK Director of Public Prosecutions warns that jurors need more guidance on rape because we're all guilty of 'unconscious bias', Radhika Sanghani lists six common rape myths that need dispelling

1) A rape victim will always be hysterical

2) The rapist didn’t realise she didn’t want it

3) Rapists are strangers lurking in dark alleys

4) When a rape victim reports it, she’ll be in court soon

5) Rapists are mentally ill monsters

6) Rapists don’t have anyone else to have sex with

I'm not sure this is really a great list of myths that need busting. Rape is a complex issue and this isn't tackling the issue.

"Rape" is all about power, and nothing to do with sex!

I'm not a "rapist" so I'm not an expert!

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/womens-politics/10888758/6-rape-myths-which-need-busting.-Badly.html

I'm not sure this is really a great list of myths that need busting. Rape is a complex issue and this isn't tackling the issue.

If the bias is 'unconscious' then one by definition cannot be 'guilty' of it

In fact how can one be sure that any conscious 'guidance' impacts the unconscious mind since the latter has no awareness of its own existence.

I know the unconscious or sub conscious mind is a popular concept with psychologists but logically it is nonsense, an oxymoron on a par with the living dead

The idea is even more suspect when applied the verdicts reached by juries which are reached one hopes by conscious individuals.