House Price Crash Forum

Opening A Spread Betting Account

macbeth79

HOLA441
HOLA442

I've used IG index. They are one of the bigger players and there is not much that they don't cover. One problem I have found with them over the years is that if you put an order on with them you always get poor fills! Maybe its just me! :P But plan for some slippage if you do use stop or limit orders with them.

I current use city index but they have just had a complete platform update which I'm still getting use to so I can't really comment yet.

I only use spread betting to occasionally hedge my holdings. I have tried short term trading but found that I was useless at it, I also have no interest in checking my positions every 10 minutes or sitting watch pips on the screen all day!

Edited by renting til I die

HOLA443
HOLA444

I spreadbet currencies full time for a living. It took me about 8 years and £50,000 before I became profitable, it also caused depression and upset relationships. Believe me, it is not an easy road to go down.

Ig index are the best platform and have the best free charts. Spreadco have fixed spreads which are very useful but the platform isn't so good.

By the by there isn't much difference between them, they all take your money in equal measure ;-)

HOLA445

I've used IG index. They are one of the bigger players and there is not much that they don't cover. One problem I have found with them over the years is that if you put an order on with them you always get poor fills! Maybe its just me! :P But plan for some slippage if you do use stop or limit orders with them.

I current use city index but they have just had a complete platform update which I'm still getting use to so I can't really comment yet.

I only use spread betting to occasionally hedge my holdings. I have tried short term trading but found that I was useless at it, I also have no interest in checking my positions every 10 minutes or sitting watch pips on the screen all day!