House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

EmmaRoid

Car Boot Selling

I’ve got some stuff I’m trying to get rid of that is worth something, even if its pennies in the pound. Things like facebook selling and ebay take their time so I wanted to speed things up with bulk selling like a car boot sale.

I’ve never done one before (or even visited one since I was a child) so I’ve no idea if it would be worth the effort even to go visit one for a recce. We’ve got things like kids clothes and shoes, some brand new, adult clothing, women’s accessories, baby/toddler toys etc.

We’re not looking for top dollar but its got to be worth giving up a day or 2 of our time after paying the fees. Any advice from the frugalistas? What sort of prices do you expect?

Also need suggestions if anyone knows good car boots in the NW. Is Chelford still a ‘go to’ event?

If you do go to the car boot, I would suggest checking the completed sales prices (not the current asking prices) for all similar items on Ebay first. (use the 'advanced search' function) then price accordingly. This will give you a good idea of what the market value of your items is.

Seems like good advice above, someone I know had a boot sale to get rid of some clothes etc for cheap prices and many of her early customers were (it later turned out) other stallholders who sold the item again with a markup. Having a good idea to start with will do no harm. Could be good fun!

Small toys from 50p to £3 depending on original cost.