House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Mr_Sminty

Where To Invest £500

Okay I have saved up 500 quid to put into my mini share ISA I have the following options

ISA with following weight

Rolls Royce 16%

BT 16%

AVIVA 16%

Ishares FTSE100 ETF 16%

Workspace 32%

Cost 3000, value 3680 at present. So not doing too badly at the moment, will look to maybe take profit or just leave it until end of 2006

GBS- to gain a bit of exposure to GOLD, not overly keen on this from the point of view that Im basically going on the bullish opinion of others. Also Ill be getting in at a high. However will bring diversity to my portfolio and protect against inflation and devaluation of pound etc. and catastrophe

OIL - Oil securities shares, bit similiar to GBS(gold bullion securities) at a low 52 at the moment from a high of 60 odd. Again Im no expert in this area but could see Oil climbing again over the next year or two, but thats just a hunch. Also as its traded in $ I think I will be at risk with the £ devaluing in the shorter term

RHM - Makers of Hovis and other bits and bobs we all buy, IPO'd at 320 about 250-260 I think at the moment. A nice boring company with a yield of 6% similiar to my decisions for going for AVIVA and BT. Can see them as a long term gainer, dividend will pay back trading costs, will prob become more fashionable if the economy become a bit volatile as we all eat bread!

Ishares Japan - Dont pay any stamp duty on these bad boys and Japan seems to be on an up which should provide some steady returns over a year or two. Exposure to USA and dollar though could nip that in the bud? Thats if all the doomongers are right about global recessions!

I know 500 is not much but anyone like to shed some light on my thoughts and what you would do and anyone got any of the above. Plus explanation of exchnage rate risk of $ vs £ would be handy as Im not sure if trading in Oil $ but having to purchase in £ is too big a risk, or if I understand them