House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

JoeDavola

For The Technies Out There - Web Development Platforms

I know there's a few techies here so I figured this might be a good place to post this question.

I am a software developer by trade and have been working for about 7 years. During that time I've kind of been a jack of all trades but master of none, but this means I've gained a wider breadth of experience than many of my peers, so I see it as a good thing.

I've had an idea for a startup brewing over the past year; nothing too groundbreaking technologically (but then again, neither were Facebook or What'sApp), but I think I have a good way to package several things together in a way that would genuinely provide value to a certain kind of person. It would combine web front ends with IOS/Android apps.

I can visualize this whole product offering in my head, but I'm trying to make a decision what technology stack to use when developing it. I've been dissapointed at the seeming lack of technology-agnostic forums out there where software folk can discuss architecture - does anyone know of any?

In terms of front end I'd be using HTML5 obviously, and to save development time I'd probably try and make the IOS/Android apps just thin wrappers over more HTML5 stuff, with the native code being used to trigger any real time events that the app might need to take into consideration. I'd rather have apps written entirely for IOS/Android, especially since it means they would work offline, but I don't think I have the time to do this.

My two big questions come when it comes to data access stuff, and the issue of cloud computing.