House Price Crash Forum
Harry Monk

What Class Are You?

I'm a lorry driver, so obviously I'm Working Class, but I was just wondering which Social Class my fellow HPC'ers consider themselves to belong to.

What Class are you? ;)

I'm a lorry driver, so obviously I'm Working Class, but I was just wondering which Social Class my fellow HPC'ers consider themselves to belong to.

What Class are you? ;)

I have to work to make enough money to live. Ergo I am working class, work is not a choice.

Some of my friends are independently wealthy. They are not working class, work is a choice.

I guess benefit class (includes pensioners) would be the other significant grouping I can think of.

I could go either way...

I own a pair of hand made leather shoes and a tuxedo

but

I own a pair of rigger boots and a baseball cap

Mum went to public school

but

Dad grew up in a council house

I wear a suit to work

but

I used to work in a factory

I've got a good income and savings

but

Rent my house

I read the Independent

but

I'll always read page 3 of somebody elses tabloid

etc... etc...

The trouble with this poll is that the classes are undefined.

I recommend http://wmbriggs.com/blog/?p=537 that reviews Paul Fussell's book Class: A Guide Through the American Status System.

I guess that Upper Class means "rich, established, aristocratic." You have to be born into or marry into this class.

Middle Class means "professional, anxious about rules, wanting to be 'proper,' chances of dying from a work-related accident are virtually zero, deals in intangible and abstract concepts

Working Class means "doing physical work outside an office, often wearing a uniform, can die from a work-related accident, manipulates objects and people in the real world

Lower Class: Those who have failed to get into / fallen out of the two classes above.