House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
HaX

Scarborough As A Place To Live

Hello everyone,

I've been following this site for four years, slowly building up my deposit whilest feeling thoroughly disenfranchised about the the extent to which housing in this country has been commoditised and the market been fixed and manipulated .

Anyway to the point ;

My other half has been offered a job in Scarborough, North Yorks. I have relatives who live there and whenever I've been up to stay, I've been impressed by the picturesque scenery and the pace of life there, which is slow in comparison to what I'm used to. She is a nurse and I work in IT (in a role which pays reasonably well and offers decent prospects). The thought of partially leaving the rat race does appeal to me.

Housing is quite cheap there, though not as cheap as I'd expect for somewhere which offers little in terms of employment and transport links. I doubt that I'd be able to command a decent salary down there, though this would be partially off-set by more reasonable accommodation costs.

I'm a little concerned at the lack of opportunity there, and also the longer term economic outlook of the place. I suspect that a large part of the local economy is driven by retired boomers spending their retirements there, and that things may go down hill in the next 15-20 years when they start dieing off.

What are peoples' opinions of the place? Would I be jumping straight into a poverty trap by moving there?

Where are you going to work ?

That would be the big question - I've seen some IT jobs advertised there, though mainly low level and well below what I am doing at the moment. I could easily do that, though I was possibly thinking about commuting to York or (at a push Leeds or Teeside). I've also got the option of contracting down in London, though would obviously need to rent a room somewhere to do that.