House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
The Knimbies who say No

Telegraph "fame And Fortune" Column

....that:

That first rung on to the property ladder was key to my financial success. After 18 months I sold my first house in Sussex for double the amount that I paid for it, and then I bought a house in Hammersmith. I have always invested in property. I had a canny buy about 20 years ago. I bought a field on a silent bid auction, which had a house adjacent to it, which was under offer at the time. The prospective buyers pulled out when they found I wouldn’t sell them part of the field so I then bought that house, which then had 11 acres, and which has been a wonderful family home ever since.

but this started because:

In about 1979 I made it on to the property ladder, but at some cost. I was a freelance writer at the time, and the only way I could obtain a mortgage was by paying a large amount of money to a man I met at a party who said he could get a mortgage for anyone.

I literally had to stalk him to get him to push through a deal for a mortgage with a well-known building society. My repayments were set at 17pc. I was, and still am, financially naïve, and I had no idea of the implications of this until I had to face the reality of paying them. As I had bribed my way into the mortgage, the powers that be didn’t check to see if I could support it. I had never earned in a single month as much as my repayments were. I had to work incredibly hard, get a lodger and I just about got by.

but some types of fraud are bad, kids: