House Price Crash Forum
DD2013

Buy In Next 6 Months Or Stay Put Renting?

Girlfriend & I looking to buy first house after rent contract expires end of April. The mainstream media are portraying this message that people must buy NOW because house prices are increasing at a record rate. But then people are saying be careful because if/when interest rates boom we'll be left with an unaffordable mortgage in a couple years time. Is that true? Neither of us earn particularly high wages and are being stretched each month as it is renting.

I'm no expert in the field but do have common sense. Whilst we'd love our own house I'd sooner rather put up with the 'renting is dead money' brigade for a while longer than buy a house and find ourselves in an impossible situation further down the line.

My question to the experts here is....is the next 6 months the right time to buy or not?

Thanks in advance.

No expert, I'm a mad idiot. I've been pissing about watching prices go up in areas I've looked at, hoping for falls to no avail. Mortgage payments on a place I missed out on last year due to stubbornness were tiny. I'm a real idiot for thinking that the price of something which the majority of people hold will go down to reasonable levels. Each day seeing these bloody sold sold sold sold sold sold boards everywhere just rubs it in.

No expert either. My guess is whenever you buy is gonna be too late anyway.

No expert here. What I do know is that either way you are going to be significantly worse off than you should be, due to bad political leadership. You are going to see more of your income go on housing costs that was ever imagined 30 years ago. Just make sure you punish LIBLABCON at the next election - and write to your MP to explain why.