House Price Crash Forum
ph4t

First Time Buyer - London

I have been renting in London for the last three years and I'm thinking now is time to buy.

I have saved up a £25k deposit. I called my bank, Lloyds, and they said if I used the Help to Buy scheme the Government will lend me £100k and they will lend me a further £375k, giving me £500k in total.

I work near St Pauls so I was thinking of looking at 2 bed apartments in either Islington or Aldgate.

Has anyone done anything similar and have you any tips for me?

I have been renting in London for the last three years and I'm thinking now is time to buy.

I have saved up a £25k deposit. I called my bank, Lloyds, and they said if I used the Help to Buy scheme the Government will lend me £100k and they will lend me a further £375k, giving me £500k in total.

I work near St Pauls so I was thinking of looking at 2 bed apartments in either Islington or Aldgate.

Has anyone done anything similar and have you any tips for me?

will cost you at least 20k to move inc.15k stamp duty and be careful about cost of ground rent and doing up the place. electrics and heating can cost a few grand easily. as for the actual place, well, hard to go wrong in those areas really, not much can add, have lived in islington, not many bargins there any more. highgate a bit cheaper...stoke newington if you are a bit daring etc... try south london, much better :)

Edited by dnjc

will cost you at least 20k to move inc.15k stamp duty and be careful about cost of ground rent and doing up the place. electrics and heating can cost a few grand easily. as for the actual place, well, hard to go wrong in those areas really, not much can add, have lived in islington, not many bargins there any more. highgate a bit cheaper...stoke newington if you are a bit daring etc... try south london, much better :)

Thanks dnjc.

When you say £20k to move do you mean another £20k on top of the £25k I have saved or can that be included in the mortgage?