House Price Crash Forum
Sancho Panza

Stop Complaining About Immigrants And Find A Job Of Your Own, Former M&s Boss Says

Telegraph 9/12/13

'High street veteran Sir Stuart Rose has told people complaining about immigrants coming to work in Britain to go out and find a job of their own. The former Marks & Spencer chief executive said it was not the fault of Bulgarians or Romanians or any other nationality if they were prepared to work hard for less money than Britons would like.

He told Sky News: "I'm a free market economist, we operate in a free market. If these people want to come here, and work the hours they are prepared to work for the wages they are prepared to work for, then so be it.'

Just for clarity,I presume he's referring to the 'free market' that kept RBS and HBOS afloat when they were about to give up the ghost.

He must be suffering from early onset dementia. Clearly has zero grasp of basic economics.

On the other side it is inevitable that "relatively soon" the wages of the Western EU will be matched by wages outside of the Western EU, because of the unstoppable globalisation. You can not pay British labour much more than others in the global economy if they do not provide something special. What they do not provide anymore.

So getting the cheap immigration in will get you ready for the next phase of the global competition.

They never get to the part where not enough people can afford to shop in their stores.

I think they still believe they can simply put up the margins to cover these losses, how long for?

Read as: I think this can be read as Immigrantion is great for our business and therefore for me.....suck it up.

It's a bit like The BoE chap saying....Low interest rates is great for savers ( read as...suck it up )......NOT IT'S BLOODY NOT.

As a big business you can bet away with allsorts when employing migrant labour (directly or indirectly), or think you can.

Migrants & Slaves?