House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dave Beans

Raspberry Pi

When's the ideal age for kids to start programming with it..I have a 7 year old nephew, and I wondered if he'd be too young to learn something like python..

I'm no child expert but seven seems OK, Python is pretty good for readability. What about Scratch? Seems to be popular for getting kids coding.

My lad's primary school has just started a computer programming club for Year 5 and 6 children. It's really using them as guinea pigs to help determine how best to implement Michael Gove's requirement that children be taught programming from 2014. I'm helping out as a volunteer.

So far, we've looked at Lightbot 2.0, which is an online puzzle aimed at conveying the basics of programming, and Scratch, which allows the kids to define and animate 2D sprites. It teaches such concepts as input/output, loops, functions, if-then conditions, etc. Next we'll be looking at Kodu, Microsoft's 3D game programming environment for kids.

Edit: I do have a Raspberry Pi to play around with, but that seems more useful for controlling robots and the like. The Raspian OS does come with Scratch (and Python) though. I'd agree that Python's a good choice for more formal programming.

7 is IMHO far too young! I wouldn't have been interested in that sort of nerdy stuff, until I was 12, then I loved it! :blink:

7 is IMHO far too young! I wouldn't have been interested in that sort of nerdy stuff, until I was 12, then I loved it! :blink:

Was going to say the same, I think programming is one of those things you need to want to learn, it's actually rather difficult and can be extremely frustrating so if it's not something you really want to be doing it will more than likely no be fun.