House Price Crash Forum
Hopeful FTB

Ftb'ers At 9%

I think I may have missed these figures in the past but that figure from the article above amazed me- cant believe that FTB'ers only make up 9% of the market- isnt the historical norm something like 50%?

Can anyone tell me what the ratio was at the time of the last housing boom?

The other part of that article ( the one from the national assosciation of estate agents) that made me laugh is the part about 2/3rds of graduates not being able to afford a home and that the advice is to knuckle down & save- what, on top of their 20k plus student debt? I graduated 10 years ago & still cant afford to buy a home! And that is nothing to do with student debt, more total un-affordability. :lol:

Land registry stats............

Year % FTB loans

1989 51

1990 52

1991 46

I firmly believe this crash will be far, far worse than the last one. :ph34r:

By the way for anyone whose interested in order to get residency in Canada the fast way is to buy a farm, costs about £50k, you then have tax free status for 5 years regardless of what you do for a living....that's right NO TAX for 5 years.

.......just incase anybody else is leaving the sinking ship too ;)

Land registry stats............

Year % FTB loans

1989 51

1990 52

1991 46

I firmly believe this crash will be far, far worse than the last one. :ph34r:

By the way for anyone whose interested in order to get residency in Canada the fast way is to buy a farm, costs about £50k, you then have tax free status for 5 years regardless of what you do for a living....that's right NO TAX for 5 years.

.......just incase anybody else is leaving the sinking ship too ;)

It would be interesting to compare these percentages to the percentages of btl landlords. I suspect there might be some inverse relationship between the two.

Bringing this to the top because I missed it and I can't believe it.