House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Will!

Nhs 'can Save £500M' On Foreign Care

I used to be an Emergency Department doctor. This not-very-new-news story caught my eye:

The story turns upon people who fraudulently claim to be living in the UK permanently and thus entitled to free NHS treatment when in fact this is not the case, and the feeble way in which the NHS checks this. Don't be distracted by the stuff about declared overseas visitors, asylum seekers etc; they declare themselves and there are well defined rules for their treatment. Also remember that there are rules about emergency treatment being free for all.

The solution is simple: stop using NHS numbers (unique identifier numbers for patients within the NHS) and use National Insurance numbers instead. IT cockups notwithstanding it would be trivial to send an automated enquiry to HM Revenue & Customs to establish whether a patient is resident in the UK for tax purposes (note not whether they pay any tax, or how much, just residency) and thus entitled to free treatment.

It's worth pointing out this doesn't involve any Orwellian ID cards or new databases. The government already knows if you're resident for tax purposes. It's still possible to abuse this system (using someone else's NI number and identity for example) but it would be considerably more work for the would-be fraudster.

I might just write to the Department of Health about this. Can anyone see any flaws?

I worked on an IT project once that wished to create a single sign-on portal for, well, everything. Doctors, nurses and patients would be able to access a patient's records from any location.

The first major problem was that every health board in the UK was using its own unique identifier to identify its patients - some were using the NI number, some were using NHS numbers and some were using their own made up numbering system.