House Price Crash Forum

Rent Increase Dispute

dirtbox

HOLA441

First time poster, long (very long) time lurker.

I've been renting a studio flat in Manchester for coming up to 15 months. Rent is pretty cheap (£380/month) but then the building is falling to bits. My window frame is rotting / rotten, the ceiling looks like it's caving in and the boiler is on it's last legs. Not to mention the fact that it drops to 7 degrees in winter. They recently had to redo the roof because of all the leaks.

That aside, there are many positives for me too (quiet area, friends and work near) and I can obviously live with the downsides otherwise I would have moved out!

Yesterday I came home to find a hand delivered letter telling me I was in arrears with my rent. From the looks of it they had put the rent up 3 months prior, and I now owe them £96 (£90 for the rent, £6 for the luxury of them hand delivering the letter). Now obviously this has to be a mistake, because I've not received any notification of a rental increase.

I called them up today and they claim they did send out the letter. But I didn't get it. We're in dispute. Now what do I do?

What I find strange is how they've in the past always hand delivered letters to our door when they wanted to communicate something. This time though they claim they sent the letter through the Royal mail - so it's possible it could have gotten lost. Or, since the Royal mail can't get access into the building, the mail for all the flats sits on the floor in the hallway, and it's possible someone else picked it up by accident or just threw it away (the letting agency is aware of this problem).

More likely however, I think they messed up their end and never sent that letter. They are renowned for their incompetence, and I can't help but feel they're trying a little lets-screw-this-guy-over.