House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Pro-crastinator

Homeownership Getting Me Down!

Hello,

Quite glad I found this forum and have read a lot of what is on here.

Interesting to see some people like me who could have bought in 2009 but didn't. Yep, I'm kicking myself in the ass now as the money I have saved up for a deposit has increased much but is obviously worth less (but not worthless :))!

I'm starting to really doubt what i read in the papers these days. London house prices up 8% one day the next day, London in another housing bubble. I guess no one knows how the market will play out but are there any signs i can look for?

I'm looking around Surrey Quays, I have no knowledge of the area but it seems the closest I can get to London for sub £300k (1 or 2bed). Any views on this location?

I'm thinking of buying now regardless of the markets as it's just getting beyond a joke. As evidenced by my thread title - it is genuinely making me upset. Sounds silly, but i think some of the other people on who have been waiting for the 'right' time will get me. I'm Almost 35 and it feels pathetic that I haven't got this sorted...

Opinions on area, gameplan and markets would be appreciated.

Forgot to say. There was a thread on getting EAs on side and the general overpricing on property. This was a really useful thread to make me feel less at the mercy of the EA and also to hold true to my cynicism of some house prices.

With 20-30% offer below list price rationale what do you guys reckon to surrey quays. is the area over priced? I feel like it is but perhaps I'm deluding myself as to what I can get (after being sucked in by the hype of part-buy s*****y looking new builds).

Hello,

Quite glad I found this forum and have read a lot of what is on here.