House Price Crash Forum
Adam

Gold (sorry)

I'm going to have to apologise before I start. I'm not a professional investor, don't play stock markets and don't understand many of the terms used in the gold threads here.

However, I am virtually certain in my own mind that a huge recession/depression is coming very soon, and have little confidence in the strength of the pound or the stock market. I have read through the Gold River website and it seems to me that gold is a good bet. I even think that there may be a huge surge in gold prices in the future.

My position is probably trivial compared to most on this thread/forum, but I'd really appreciate your views.

I have 35k sitting in a building society account from a recently aborted house sale. I'd like to do something with it rather than watch it rot as the pound devalues.

I'm prepared to invest (and also prepared to lose entirely) £5k ("big deal !" you may say) in gold and would not be looking for short term gains as I don't expect to buy a house for about 3-4 years. I don't really want to invest in mining companies, as I am not sophisticated enough to judge their future. Gold is gold however and as long as I don't have to keep it in a safe at home, I'd prefer to buy the metal, and this seems a good time to buy.

I know this is a finger in the air, you don't give financial advice, and I'm not going to sue if it goes tits up. I just want your view. I make my own decisions, but like to get as much info as possible, particularly from the more sophisticated investors here.

So the questions are :

What is your view on the return i might get on that 5k investment in say 2008/9? Do you expect a bubble, mediocre returns or a loss?

If the value of the pound decreases through inflation, am I right in thinking that will just increase the £ value of my gold, and so I am therefore protected?

Is it in anyway possible (however unlikely) that I could lose ALL my £5k?