House Price Crash Forum
luke85

Mortgage Advice Needed, Resident In Germany Buying In Uk

Some of you may remember that around 12 months ago I moved to work in Germany. I have been a resident here for almost exactly 12 months and during thet time I have been paying German income tax and spending many weekends back in the UK. My initial plan was to keep saving up for a few more years before buying but the perfect house has come up for sale at just below the 2004 price. The house is on for £180k and I have a £30k deposit. My earnings are 45,000 euros PA plus regular bonusses of 10,000 euros.

However I am having problems finding any bank or building society which will offer a mortgage to an expat in Germany. I intend to keep working here for a few more years while my girlfriend lives in the house back in the UK, I generally return to the UK every other weekend and also for around 10 weeks holiday a year.

Does anyone know who might offer something to suit me? I will be paying the mortgage in pounds because my wages are transferred straight to the UK at the end of each month.

Thanks in advance

Some of you may remember that around 12 months ago I moved to work in Germany. I have been a resident here for almost exactly 12 months and during thet time I have been paying German income tax and spending many weekends back in the UK. My initial plan was to keep saving up for a few more years before buying but the perfect house has come up for sale at just below the 2004 price. The house is on for £180k and I have a £30k deposit. My earnings are 45,000 euros PA plus regular bonusses of 10,000 euros.

However I am having problems finding any bank or building society which will offer a mortgage to an expat in Germany. I intend to keep working here for a few more years while my girlfriend lives in the house back in the UK, I generally return to the UK every other weekend and also for around 10 weeks holiday a year.