House Price Crash Forum

I’ve been lurking here since about 2009, so I’m aware of the arguments and agree with most of them, but I feel like it’s going to be another 10-15 years before the mess that we’re in works its way through the system. I’m really tempted to buy now rather than wait until then. I’ve been looking at flats on the outskirts of east, south east, south London where it looks like 200k gets a decent 1 bed. 25k deposit, 50k BOMAD, and 125k mortgage works out at £600 pcm which is what I’m paying now to share with two others in Hackney (it’s actually a really great place but the sharing sucks). My reasons are thus…

1. A place of my own. Walking around naked, bringing home girls/friends without having to consider if my flatmates are going to be sprawled out on the sofa covered in blankets watching a sh1t film.
2. Being able to shape my environment. Everyone wants to sort their home out how they want, I’m an architect and its really frustrating designing other peoples homes and not being able to do my own.
3. My dad has offered to lend me 50k which he will need back in about 10 years. I thinking about this as ‘mortgage replacement’ rather than ‘additional loan’ it makes sense for me to take him up on this offer while its there.
4. Job is secure, I’m a qualified professional. Granted things can go wrong for anyone anywhere but I think I’m in a better position than many.
5. Macro: the only possible way out of the problems is a lot of money printing -> inflation. Is there any reason to be afraid of a 4x earnings debt?
6. Single man, no girlfriend or kids to worry about. If I don’t buy here, then the alternative is to move to a different country, but I like London, like buildings and the work I do here and in this industry the culture is very London-centric and you pretty much have to be here for your career to go anywhere.