House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
FingerTheCulprit

Undervaluation In South Wales - Anyone Else?

My wife and I have been renting for over 10 years now and we are into our 30s.

We’ve been continuing to frugally manage our finances and finally in a position to lay down a 10% deposit (£20k) on a house... but....we’ve just been undervalued by £25k on a £215k house. So, we're locked out once again.

I wonder whether any one else has been undervalued on their purchase property? Is this something first time buyers often experience?

I've put some more details on my blog if you are interested....

http://******/ZrthnR

A poster called the masked tulip has reported this in swansea.

No offence but 215k is a lot for a house in Wales. If it has taken so long to accumulate a 10% deposit, might you be aiming too high?

Or could it be ........... you were prepared to pay £25k over the odds for a house and someone has saved you from the negative equity problem. He's also saved me and every other taxpayer in the land yet more expense when the bank who would have given you a mortgage gets bailed out. Again.

You should send the surveryor a thankyou card and a box of chocks.

By the way, if continuing to frugally manage your finances has helped you to scrape up a meagre 10% deposit on a modest house, you might like to think about being ultra cautious in buying a house, 'cos it sounds like you might be at risk if there is an interest rate rise or when we get the fall in property prices that the market is currently defying.

Edited by Stainless Sam

Sounds like the OP simply has offered way too much for a house and the surveyor or bank has merely laughed at the ludocrous asking price from the EA/seller.

Sorry if that sounds harsh but there is a lot of ludicrous asking prices coming on the market now - completely out of control in my opinion.