House Price Crash Forum
Kevin

Ex-Dividend Date Question

Hi

I am new to stock investment. I have a question related to Ex-Dividends date.

I buy shares from my online broker. The broker quote me a price for 15 seconds, I buy the share if I accept the price within 15 seconds. However, it normally takes several days to "complete" the purchase. My question is that whether I am eligible for dividends at the point I accept the price and buy the share OR I have to wait until it completes?

For example, if a company has Ex-dividend date on 15th. If I buy a share on 14th, it will be "completed" by 18th. In this case, am I eligible for dividend on 15th?

Many thanks

Yes. If you buy the share before or at close of business on the 14th, then you will receive the div if the ex-div date is the 15th. If you buy at open of business on the 15th, you will not receive the div.

There is a different date called the "record date". This is the date that the list of shareholders is checked, to work out who gets the dividend. This is a few days after the ex-dividend date.

The idea is that the ex-dividend date is the date at which if you agree to buy, you will not receive the dividend (there will not be time for your name to go onto the shareholders list prior to the record date). If you look at the price, if share price will drop on the ex-div date, in recognition of the fact that if you agree to buy you will not be getting the next dividend.

Yes. If you buy the share before or at close of business on the 14th, then you will receive the div if the ex-div date is the 15th. If you buy at open of business on the 15th, you will not receive the div.

There is a different date called the "record date". This is the date that the list of shareholders is checked, to work out who gets the dividend. This is a few days after the ex-dividend date.