House Price Crash Forum

Something Is Happening

HOLA441

I've been monitoring an area I'd like to live in for the last three years. It covers a radius of about one mile outside of a Hampshire town.

In this time there has been hardly anything for sale, maybe two houses - one sold quite quickly and the other was taken off the market within two months.

In the last eight weeks eight properties have gone on the market and are staying there. One went STC and then back on after two weeks while the others just sit there.

I'd describe all the properties as 30% over-valued in this market, and that's not even an HPC pessimist view on the market price I mean really over-priced. That is except the one that was listed today - which is spot-on I'd say (undercutting smaller houses at 400K more!).

Something is happening, but I don't know what exactly.

• Replies 247
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

HOLA442
HOLA443

Yep, I think something is happening too, but like you I don't know exactly what.

Almost 50% of what I'm seeing coming onto the market is chain free, and all of it is overpriced (again even allowing for the fact that I'm a rabid HPCer). I also pissed off an estate agent yesterday when I made some comment to the effect that I'm not in a rush to buy as "whatever you're trying to pass off as a spring bounce" will be over soon, putting me in a stronger position. She went from being very nice to being very blunt.

Looks like the shiny veneer might be cracking :)

HOLA444
HOLA445
HOLA446
HOLA447

I'm very much inclined to agree that 'something' is happening.