House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
interestrateripoff

Petrol Sales Slump To 23-Year Low

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2316288/Petrol-sales-slump-23-year-low-drivers-suffer-sky-high-prices-forecourts.html

Petrol sales have fallen to their lowest level since records began, due to soaring prices.

Consumption at forecourts across the country fell to a new low of 1.37billion litres last month, according to the AA.

This represents a drop of 56million litres since February and marks the lowest level of consumption since January 1990.

As cars get more economical this decline would appear permanent.

Most people I know who’ve bought a car recently bought diesels…

I've been using a scooter for the last 9 months. You can get 120 mpg plus out of 125cc . . .

The UK climate isn't wonderful for two wheels, but you'll save the cost easily just using one as shopping transport. (No congestion charges, often no parking charges, £16 a year road tax.)

In warmer climes, there's a big move to two wheels: more sold in Italy than cars last year.

Loading taxes onto motorists had to be self-defeating in the end.

Most people I know who’ve bought a car recently bought diesels…

I suspect that is the truth! I'm still doing my bit to waste the Earth's resources though! ;)

Petrol sales have fallen to their lowest level since records began, due to soaring prices. taxes

The data from the US, which is similar, seems to suggest it's mostly due to demographic changes and changes in youth preferences.

There's no actual data or evidence in the Daily Hate article so they're little help.

It's hard to believe it's down to fuel efficiency if one looks at the volume of massively overweight 4x4s on the roads ferrying a 5'2" woman to the nail boutique.

20 years ago you could get fiat's with 500cc engines for instance.

Something else is going on.................

Where are these soaring prices?

18Apr11 130.9p

22Apr13 130.9p

From my weekly petrolprices.com emails