House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

BristolBuyer

Redundancies On The Horizon

I'm a software developer in a large IT company. Although there have been no announcements, the workstreams from our main customers are likely to shrink over the next 12 months, and I reckon there's at least a 50% chance of redundancies in my office, with little chance of internal redeployment. The office might close altogether. I think I'm one of the more employable people in the office, but I'm not sure that will count for much. I don't expect to get more than statutory minimum redundancy.

Like many on this forum (I suspect), my savings are much larger than my outgoings, which might be a factor. I don't like the amount of office politics in my job, but I'm trying to develop thick skin, and focusing on my salary, which is above average for the job I do.

My question is, should I wait until redundancies are (probably) announced, or move to a different company now, possibly with a small pay cut?

I've never been made redundant before; is it harder to negotiate a good salary with a new employer when you're in a position of weakness (ie. imminent unemployment) ?

I'm a software developer in a large IT company. Although there have been no announcements, the workstreams from our main customers are likely to shrink over the next 12 months, and I reckon there's at least a 50% chance of redundancies in my office, with little chance of internal redeployment. The office might close altogether. I think I'm one of the more employable people in the office, but I'm not sure that will count for much. I don't expect to get more than statutory minimum redundancy.

Like many on this forum (I suspect), my savings are much larger than my outgoings, which might be a factor. I don't like the amount of office politics in my job, but I'm trying to develop thick skin, and focusing on my salary, which is above average for the job I do.