House Price Crash Forum

Renting With A Dog.

How difficult is it to rent somewhere when you own a dog?

In most places almost impossible, 95% of landlords will turn you down if you ask.

What most people seem to do is rent a place, hide the dog in a kennel for a couple of days while moving and then move it in without telling the LL. When they will eventually find out just act dumb, they will invariably be pissed off and will read you the riot act but they probably won't evict you.

Of course this is much easier to pull off if you are female, just pick up the dog and start making baby noises and talking nonsense until the LL rolls his eyes and leaves you alone.

Hi

I've been renting a place for ten years and it that time I acquired a dog. I've now been given notice to leave and have to find somewhere new to live. But I have a dog. How difficult is it to rent somewhere when you own a dog?

Good luck with that one...

In my experience it is a rare to find any kind of rental that accepts pets of any kind.

Your best bet may be to find a private rental. My friend had a cat and once she was able to speak to a LL directly (not via an agent) they did not have a problem with it - on the assumption that any damage would be put right (I think they had to pay a slightly bigger deposit) - several had initially turned her down.

It is one area where the rental laws need improved - who is a LL to say that one cannot have a companion animal - provided any damage is made good and it one does not turn the place into a dogs home then there should not be a problem.

In most places almost impossible, 95% of landlords will turn you down if you ask.

What most people seem to do is rent a place, hide the dog in a kennel for a couple of days while moving and then move it in without telling the LL. When they will eventually find out just act dumb, they will invariably be pissed off and will read you the riot act but they probably won't evict you.