House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Neilr9

Can The Banks Run Out Of Money To Lend ?

Hi,

I'm no expert in economics, so forgive me if this is a stupid question. But is it actually possible for the banks to run out of money to lend for all these mortgages ? Surely if prices go up an up, eventually there will not be enough money to lend. Or, do they have some limitless supply ? At what point will the banks stop lending because they have run out of money ? Would someone care to expand on this.

thanks.

Hi,

I'm no expert in economics, so forgive me if this is a stupid question. But is it actually possible for the banks to run out of money to lend for all these mortgages ? Surely if prices go up an up, eventually there will not be enough money to lend. Or, do they have some limitless supply ? At what point will the banks stop lending because they have run out of money ? Would someone care to expand on this.

thanks.

No - the banks can never run out of the money to lend - when they lend it to you at 7% they get it from the central bank at 4.75%. The central bank simply then prints it, and the amount of money in the economy goes up.

They do not target the supply of money- they target the 'inflation' measure.

For instance, so much lending has occured in the past year that the central bank has printed £1 for every £10 you have saved or earnt in the supply of money in the economy. From september this accelerated to £1.20 per £10 of your life savings.

Now all this money supply growth would normally be reflected in prices - However because there are so many millions and millions of new people in the UK this prevents wages rising like house prices or stock prices as the price of labour is cheapened.