House Price Crash Forum

Should I Pay Less Or Continue Overpaying On The Mortgage?

HOLA441

My 2 year fixed rate ends in May, I have a 25 year mortgage and am currently paying £659 per month which I've been doing for two years.

I will have the following fixed-rate opportunities:

Pay £576 per month with 23 years remaining on the mortgage.

Pay £660 per month and knock of 3 years, leaving 20 years on the mortgage.

It'd be nice to have an extra £100 per month but I realise that in the long run I would be paying more in interest. If I go with the second option, I am reducing the interest owed and knocking down the time left. Plus, in the case of option 2, if interest rates do go up, I am better prepared, having paid off more towards the amount owed.

Clearly, the first option has short term benefits, the other has long term ones.

Given your life experience, what would you do?

HOLA442

My 2 year fixed rate ends in May, I have a 25 year mortgage and am currently paying £659 per month which I've been doing for two years.

I will have the following fixed-rate opportunities:

Pay £576 per month with 23 years remaining on the mortgage.

Pay £660 per month and knock of 3 years, leaving 20 years on the mortgage.

It'd be nice to have an extra £100 per month but I realise that in the long run I would be paying more in interest. If I go with the second option, I am reducing the interest owed and knocking down the time left. Plus, in the case of option 2, if interest rates do go up, I am better prepared, having paid off more towards the amount owed.

Clearly, the first option has short term benefits, the other has long term ones.

Given your life experience, what would you do?