House Price Crash Forum

Solar Pv In The Uk

Harry Sacks

I know of several people that have spent thousands on PV systems to get the feed in tariff that ended in August. Several years ago I studied energy systems as part of my degree, carried out energy audits and surveys for renewable systems.

Solar PV was by far the biggest waste of time at our latitude as production opposed demand.

Discus.

Several years ago....

Discus.

How many years ago? The price of PV panels has plummeted in the last few years.

Yes PV makes more sense in hot countries where demand is driven a lot by air con to peak at midday. But even in the UK electricity demand at midday is far higher than midnight...

How many years ago? The price of PV panels has plummeted in the last few years.

Yes PV makes more sense in hot countries where demand is driven a lot by air con to peak at midday. But even in the UK electricity demand at midday is far higher than midnight...

Five years ago. I was thinking more between October and March, rather than day night.

I know of several people that have spent thousands on PV systems to get the feed in tariff that ended in August. Several years ago I studied energy systems as part of my degree, carried out energy audits and surveys for renewable systems.

Solar PV was by far the biggest waste of time at our latitude as production opposed demand.

Discus.

It only makes sense because of the subsidy. PV not really efficient enough for the UK.

Mind you, it ought to be illegal to build houses without solar water heaters, they work and work well.

Regarding the demand/production thing, at least the gas stations can be turned down a tiny bit when solar PV is adding it's miniscule assistance to the grid, so not all bad.

It only makes sense because of the subsidy. PV not really efficient enough for the UK.

Mind you, it ought to be illegal to build houses without solar water heaters, they work and work well.