House Price Crash Forum
Elizabeth

Globally Warmed Landscape Map

Totally on topic since its a long term value issue! Does any one know where I can get hold of a globally warmed landscape map. I know TTRTR has got some firm ideas on this in London, but I am wondering about the coast. Has any eco-geeko done the definitive map yet? If not, its only a matter of time, but I would really like to see it now and I have done a search without results.

Upload the data and I can do you one..

Thanks, I'm not a scientist - just a mug punter who doesn't really want to be drowned at home (I have had awful dreams about the sea washing into my house (which always has a very nice full glass pane front and a patio - in my dreams!!!) since I was a kid! It always washes away the potted plants!!!) As such I don't have the data. Do you do maps per se? If I found out how much the seas are going to rise by a particular date would that be enough???

Edited by Elizabeth

Average sea level rise per year is approx. 1 mm. The Dutch (who have been monitoring sea level for longer than anyone, for very good reason!) have found no evidence to support a recent change in this rate. More significant is the post-glacial rebound. During the recent glacial period (approx. 10,000 years ago), Scotland was covered in thick glaciers. The result of this is Scotland literally sagged under the weight of the ice, and England as a direct result popped up out of the sea. The ice is long gone, but it takes time for the ground to settle again. As a result, the entire South of England is gradually sinking back into the sea. The effect in England is around 2mm/year. Scotland is rising at around 3mm/year.

Guest growl