House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
classixuk

Why It Could Be So Easy To Run Up Massive Debts

Last week I received an email from paypal and ebay (not a spoof one either) saying that they had reset mt password as they had reason to believe my account had been compromised.

I decided that incase it ever happens again I should have a credit card with a low credit limit (maybe £500) attached to my paypal account.

So last week I applied online to a company I've never used before (MBNA) for a regular Visa. I didn't do any shopping around, just looked for a company who took applications online.

Yesterday I received a letter:

"Dear Mr Classixuk,

We're pleased to welcome you to MBNA and are more than pleased to tell you that you've been accepted for a platinum plus card with an initial credit limit of £5500."

My eyes nearly popped out of my skull. £5500 just like that? That's more than my present credit limit on my personal credit card!

I've never used this company before and now for the scary part...

When I first came back to the UK in 1998 I lived with my parents for around 6 months and one of my "redundant" bank accounts is still registered at that address. Thinking along the lines of protecting myself even further, I registered that bank account with the card.

As far as MBNA were concerned I'm 28, living with my parents and earning just £200 per week!!!

Imagine for one second someone in those very circumstances receiving a new credit card with a limit of £5,500 just before Christmas. Unbelievable! No wonder we've got people with no financial nouse purchasing BTL properties with the plastic as deposit.

Needless to say that it looks as though i'l be asking for my regular credit card company to lower the limit to around £500 on my card, and this new card will be my personal credit card ( I don't worry about interest as I always pay the balance in full each month by direct debit).