House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Guest pioneer31

Cut Out The Middle Man?

Guest pioneer31

I am new to this renting malarkey and was wondering what the pros and cons of going through an Estate Agent are? I have been advised to do so by a friend as they say its 'safer', but on the other hand I am reading stories on here of their 'exhorbitant fees'.

Thanks!

I am new to this renting malarkey and was wondering what the pros and cons of going through an Estate Agent are? I have been advised to do so by a friend as they say its 'safer', but on the other hand I am reading stories on here of their 'exhorbitant fees'.

Thanks!

Well, in my experience (London) estate agents usually charge about 100-200 quid "arrangement fees, " and may tack on absolute absurdities like 50 quid for a credit check. If you hassle them you can usually get it reduced; and if they think you'll walk they usually come around. They're all desperate at the moment anyway (BIG difference to a year ago I can tell you) so I suspect you'll have some good barganing power. It should be cheaper outside London too.

As to the safer thing, that depends. If the estate agent is actually managing the property rather than simply finding a tenant for an independent landlord then it probably is safer. They will obey the law, such as checking gas appliances, and not coming around unannounced. They will also get inexpensive things fixed relatively effectively and promptly. However, do not expect stellar service. Also expect them to try and thieve at least some of your deposit as a matter of routine.