House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
homeless

Young 'cannot Afford' First Homes

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/4328366.stm

i believe this report is biased in many ways, first it assumes that young people only in certain areas are 5 times salary multiples for the average house, I would say in every single area this is the case and in fact i think they mean the salary of a young couple not a single but dont say this.

second they say only 1/5 of young people are affected by this an-affordability problem, thats complete nonsence if this was the case then how come first time buyers in another report are locked out of 95% of uk towns.

Edited by homeless

Are these the same young people who can find £90 for a shirt for a night out, and another £100 for taxi's, drink and take out at the end of it?

He's the deal; if they REALLY want it, they will find a way to get on the ladder.

When I was 19 I worked in a garage during the day, drove taxi's at night and worked a door on a Friday and Saturday. All this in the middle of that lovely early 90's recession. I wasn't out drinking cocktails at £6 a time, staring at my Ted Baker £90 shoes as I lounged on a bar stool.

There are a lot more ways for the young to earn money now if they want it, and no-body makes them sign up to conspicuous consumerism. That's there choice.

Just my thoughts.

Are these the same young people who can find £90 for a shirt for a night out, and another £100 for taxi's, drink and take out at the end of it?

He's the deal; if they REALLY want it, they will find a way to get on the ladder.

When I was 19 I worked in a garage during the day, drove taxi's at night and worked a door on a Friday and Saturday. All this in the middle of that lovely early 90's recession. I wasn't out drinking cocktails at £6 a time, staring at my Ted Baker £90 shoes as I lounged on a bar stool.