House Price Crash Forum

Unemployed Graduate On The Beeb

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-15722022

Listen to this graduate's breezy tone. She obviously had no idea what her job prospects were. She graduates then quite fancies working in publishing and the 'media sector' - two areas that are competitive and many of the entry-levels roles are done by trustarfarians working for free or very low pay.

It wasn't much different when I graduated over 10 years ago - aside from those that did teacher training no one attained a 'graduate' job after their first degree.

Isn't it utterly immoral that schools are still peddling the idea that a degree sets you up for life and saddling people with vast debts?

I wasn't much different to her. With three As at A Level and a humanities degree from a middle-of-the-road Uni I never thought I'd have to do crappy jobs with the fickos who half-failed their GSCEs.

• Replies 101
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Listen to this graduate's breezy tone. She obviously had no idea what her job prospects were. She graduates then quite fancies working in publishing and the 'media sector' - two areas that are competitive and many of the entry-levels roles are done by trustarfarians working for free or very low pay.

It wasn't much different when I graduated over 10 years ago - aside from those that did teacher training no one attained a 'graduate' job after their first degree.

Isn't it utterly immoral that schools are still peddling the idea that a degree sets you up for life and saddling people with vast debts?

I wasn't much different to her. With three As at A Level and a humanities degree from a middle-of-the-road Uni I never thought I'd have to do crappy jobs with the fickos who half-failed their GSCEs.