House Price Crash Forum
Aquaman

Student Loan Debt

I took out a loan in 2007. I expect along with many others I didn't even have a clue what the terms were, I was just brainwashed into taking a degree and therefore a loan.

I did a 4 year degree and now have debt of around 30k. This is more than my entire family has in savings. It is rising at some ridiculous rate of inflation.

In the event of hyper inflation, what is going to happen to my debt?

I'm getting really worried about the situation as I dont ever see myself paying it off. I may end up going abroad and part of the reason is I feel like running away from it all.

I took out a loan in 2007. I expect along with many others I didn't even have a clue what the terms were, I was just brainwashed into taking a degree and therefore a loan.

I did a 4 year degree and now have debt of around 30k. This is more than my entire family has in savings. It is rising at some ridiculous rate of inflation.

I'm getting really worried about the situation as I dont ever see myself paying it off. I may end up going abroad and part of the reason is I feel like running away from it all.

Here's hoping your degree wasn't in Economics :lol:

Student debt is horrid, and it is only going to get worse it seems.

The interest is compounding, so if we have hyperinflation and the student loans company decided that the interest rate they charged was 15%, they you you have 15% added to your bill. Hopefully your income should also rise per year at a similar rate, otherwise food becomes far more of an issue than debt!

So what are your options....

1) Pay the debt via PAYE only if you are over the threshold limits... you may pay it off before you retire, if your income is high enough, but generally not worry about it. It doesn't affect your credit score, and basically becomes an additional tax burden to you.