House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Ologhai Jones

Steam (Game Platform)

I've recently discovered that LucasArts have remade their first two Monkey Island adventures with updated graphics, music etc.

They're available via Steam -- which is something I have no experience of.

Being a bit of an old timer, I'd quite like to have a local copy of a game (in the old days, I'd've bought the disc with the game on) and be able to play it indefinitely and offline (if I choose to). I'm a bit nervous of what restrictions Steam may impose -- in ten years, will I still be able to play a game that was purchased through Steam? Will I be able to play a Steam game without an internet connection? And loads of stuff like that which bothers old timers such as meself.

Will someone please bring me up to date! :)

I've recently discovered that LucasArts have remade their first two Monkey Island adventures with updated graphics, music etc.

Being a bit of an old timer, I'd quite like to have a local copy of a game (in the old days, I'd've bought the disc with the game on) and be able to play it indefinitely and offline (if I choose to). I'm a bit nervous of what restrictions Steam may impose -- in ten years, will I still be able to play a game that was purchased through Steam? Will I be able to play a Steam game without an internet connection? And loads of stuff like that which bothers old timers such as meself.

Yes you can play the game offline but I have no idea what will happen in ten years ;). Before you buy anything of steam it is best to wait until one of their big sales where they knock upto 80% of the normal prices. The next one is due at Christmas but be aware that buying games from steam can become addictive. Previous games i have bought include:

Far cry £1.25, Vice City £1 and Crysis £2.

At those prices i fail to see how you can get cheaper entertainment.